Many people believe that the best way to protect the environment is for governments to impose strict laws on industries and individuals. Others think there are better ways to encourage environmental protection. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about whether it is the most effective way for governments to impose strict laws to protect the environment or there are other better ways. Although strict laws can deter some environmentally harmful behaviours, I think other ways like education can have a long-term effect. On the one hand, making strict laws is the most straightforward way to protect the environment. Environmental degradation has “externalities”, meaning that many companies ignore their environmental responsibility in order to reduce the cost of production. Because it is impractical for voluntary environmental protection to cover all the high-polluting industries, governments making strict laws and emission standards is necessary. Through punishment and production bans to increase the cost of acting illegally, which will enforce enterprises and individuals to alter their behaviours. As a result, contamination will be reduced massively and systematically. On the other hand, relying solely on laws is unlikely to be the most effective way to protect environment. Although strict laws may deter serious violations, compliance is driven by fear of punishment. As a result, the cost of enforcement is high, but once supervision is loosened, the contaminant will re-emerge. Simultaneously, environmental problems stem from individuals’ daily habits, which cannot be changed through occasional sanction. According to an investigation conducted in Shanghai, the students who receive regular environmental education acts 40% less environmental harmful behaviours than those who don’t. In this sense, strict laws tend to treat the symptoms rather than address the roots of environmental degradation. From my point of view, other ways like education are better in regard of economics. As strict enforcement may overburden the government budget and consume judicial resources, other important social issues such as healthcare and infrastructure will lack resources, which may lead to an unbalanced social development. In conclusion, while strict laws would undoubtedly have some effectiveness, it is not the best way in the long term. A better approach is to combine laws with other ways raising public awareness.