The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In recent days, various kinds of food are very accessible and over-eating habits has been a concerning issue worldwide. An increasing percentage by 20% of obese adolescents has intensified, particularly in Western countries. This discussion will elaborate the underlying causes and of this issue and following impacts. One of the most significant factors contributing to the increasing cases of overweight children is excessive consumption of ultra processed food (UPF). Corresponding to its name, UPF has been through many processes by the factory machines prior to its final product that is readily eaten by people, resulting in its loss of some nutrition. For instance, kids eating too much of UPF have more fats in their body and are prone to obesity. In addition, lack of exercise could cause someone to be overweight as well. Exercises help human bodies burn all the calories and turn them into energy, not fats. For example, with similar excessive eating habits, adolescents who rarely exercise weigh more than those children who diligently keep their bodies active. Consequently, obesity would bring some serious impacts in society, such as decreasing one’s self confidence and arising cases of some disease. Overweight kids tend to have insecurities about their bodies, resulting in loss of confidence and become socially-awkward with their peers. Another concerning effect is a person might be suffering from illness due to obesity. For example, children having excessive body fats might be prone to cardiovascular disease from a young age, especially heart problems and stroke. To conclude, increasing cases of overweight children has been concerning due to excessive eating of UPF and lack of exercises. Those conditions might bring some serious impacts such as increasing insecurities and arising health problems among children.