The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Over the years, scientific research has made significant progress in improving living standards. However, from a humanitarian perspective, the ultimate goal of scientific innovation is to enhance the quality of life. I am strongly inclined to support this argument. To begin with, technological advancement plays a crucial role in improving public health. As a result of cutting-edge research, it has led to the development of cures and vaccines, advanced medical treatments, diagnostic tests and preventative healthcare procedures. These innovations have led to an increase in life expectancy, reduced mortality rates and controlled the spread of infectious diseases. Consequently, this leads to a healthier population and communities that are more resilient to pandemics. Furthermore, interdisciplinary research in risk assessment has made a significant impact in improving public safety and reducing the impact of natural calamities on human life. Early natural disaster warnings and improved infrastructure and transportation systems allow the government to enforce preventative measures that save lives and improve access to essential services. Moreover, it enhances public confidence in scientific and leadership institutions. In conclusion, it is evident that transformative discoveries revolutionized the status of public health to a greater level, leading to a stronger society against global outbreaks. Not only that, but also these advancements have steadily mitigated the effects of natural catastrophes which has, in turn, improved the trust in the governance skills by the public. Overall, these social benefits are a clear indication that the true value of sciences remains in its ability in addressing real-world problems and not just making societal progress.