Some people prefer to live in an extended family where a number of different generations live together. Others prefer to live in a small, nuclear family. List some of the advantages and disadvantages of living in a large, extended family.

In today's world, while many individuals prefer to habitate in nuclear families, others still find value in living with extended family. This essay investigates the pros and cons of dwelling in large families. One central advantage of large families is the strong bonds created, which reduce loneliness for members. In addition, there are more opportunities for mutual support in doing home chores. For example, a Facebook post recently showed several classy traditional houses being unveiled in rural Zimbabwe; the owners unanimously attributed the high successful completion rates to the sharing of financial costs and labour requirements by household members. Despite the notable efficiency in executing home tasks and the potential for forming lasting family bonds, there remains a high chance of conflict and competition among members. Additionally, favouritism has been shown to be high in such situations. Furthermore, many big families face enduring poverty resulting from limited resources to sustain their livelihoods. This phenomenon commonly occurs in African families and culminates in their dependancy on aid from non-profit organisations. In conclusion, extended family arrangements, as well as nuclear ones, carry significant benefits and challenges. Therefore, the choice to live in either family type is mostly dependant on what individuals prefer.