The young today spend a large amount of their leisure time in shopping centres. It is feared that this trend can bring negative influences on the youths and the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is often argued that teenagers are spending an extended amount of time in commercial centres, which has created a fear among the publi about whether such behaviour can have a negative impact on teens and society. In my opinion, I agree that such actions may lead to a negative development because they impact their spending behaviour, and cause excessive consumption. To begin with, spending long hours in shopping malls stimulates people to spend more money. This is mainly because individuals are often attracted to fashion accessories, such as clothing, footwear, and trendy handbags, which often seek their attention in malls. As a result, they spend a fortune on such things, which may prevent them from saving money on other necessities, and such behaviour negatively impacts their money management. As an example, a recent study proves that youths fall for trendy fashion in order to keep up the trend they often purchase more expensive goods to avoid discrimination among friends. Therefore, it is evident that it has a negative impact on youths' spending culture. Furthermore, such a trend promotes excessive consumption because individuals believe that this behaviour is socially acceptable, which motivates them to constantly purchase products. This impacts their decision-making skills because they fail to understand the difference between necessity and lifestyle. In addition, such a lack of knowledge causes excessive consumption, while stressing society with issues, such as pollution, and recycling to prevent environmental damage. For instance, a recent environmental study showed showed why plastic waste is a growing concern,and it is due to the fact of throw- away culture being adopted by citizens who are irresponsible to protect the environment. To sum up, some people argue that spending more time in shopping centres has adverse effects on youths and society. I strongly agree that such a trend impacts teenagers' spending patterns, which prevents them from saving money. Also, forces them to be a part of consumerism by encouraging the consumption of unwanted things, which causes environmental stress to Society.