People who travel to another country to live, work or study for a period of time often suffer badly from homesickness. Why this problem occurs? What are the best ways to reduce this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The world has changed greatly in recent years. Many people need to travel abroad alone either for work or study. This can result in homesickness. This essay will outline the main reasons for this issue and will suggest practical solutions to overcome such a problem. There are various reasons behind this phenomenon, one of them is being away from your parents or partner. This will create a completely new routine in your daily life. For example, I have suffered from homesickness when I studied abroad, and I had the challenge of living alone without my parents. I found it absolutely difficult to change my routine, I really missed the food was my mother prepared. Another reason for this suffering is that you have to accommodate yourself in a new environment which may have a completely different weather, rules and culture. All these alterations will enhance the feeling of homesickness. However, it is necessary to overcome this phenomenon by keeping in touch with your family through video calls or social media to reduce this negative feeling. I personally used to call my mother a couple of times every day when I was abroad. Another practical method is to participate in social events or sports in that new country. This will allow you to make new friends and increase your knowledge about the culture of that new place. For instance, some people join a sports team or a gym just to mix with people from this new culture. In conclusion, it is normal to suffer from homesickness when settling down in a new place for the mentioned reasons. However, it is also possible to overcome this issue, if one manages to accommodate himself in that new environment.