Some people think that some humans are born lucky while others are not. How far do you agree with this statement?

Whether humans are born with fateful futures or not is a highly debated topic in contemporary society. This essay partly agrees with the "luck" argument because while an element of it may be present in certain individuals’ life courses, some outcomes reflect outright dedication and hard work. On the one hand, the perception that humanity is born lucky stems from widely circulated media images about sudden and unexpected lifecourse changes. Social media, in particular, is awash with stories of people who previously lived lives filled with misfortune, who suddenly prospered due to unplanned reasons. Some important examples of this are people mysteriously recovering from stage four cancer, surviving road accidents or winning the lottery. These justify the "nature" perspective. On the other hand, balancing this discussion requires us to consider the efforts people make in life. Many individuals dedicate time, money and effort to life projects so as to achieve success. For instance, lottery participants often pinpoint their knowledge and experience in predicting winning strategies. In addition, patients may also choose to attend costly private hospitals endowed with world-class technologies and advanced medicines, to receive the best treatment. Such actions and the related success cannot only be attributed to fate. In conclusion, evidence shows that the reasons given for human beings being born lucky are valid. However, my opinion is that we should also acknowledge human effort as people exercise agency to achieve in life. Individuals endowed with both tend to become high achievers in the world.