Some people think that the main benefit of international cooperation is in the protection of the environment, while others believe that businesses mainly benefit. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The presence of the multinational companies around the world is expected to protect the environment, and at the same time, their existence is merely to generate profit. In my opinion, the operation of a company must meet those objectives. To begin with, the Director has a mandate from shareholders to maximise their wealth, measured in the net income they produce. The higher profit they generate, the higher dividends they receive, and some of this profit will be reinvested again to build other companies and eventually lead to economic growth and attract workforce to reduce the unemployment rate in a country. For example, in the last few years, Vietnam had a high economic growth rate in the world because its government has taken action to facilitate investment regulation, and as a result, well-known companies such as Apple, Microsoft and Oracle have brought a lot of money there to diversify their operating regions. However, globalisation leads to detrimental effects on neighbourhoods they operate, especially those that in the field of mining and plantation because in running their businesses, they have to exploit natural resources, and in some cases leads to deforestation and the waste they produce becomes a source of pollutants. It is a serious threat to our biodiversity and the wildlife ecosystem. For example, severe damage from floods in some areas of Indonesia at the end of 2025 was caused by deforestation by various multinational companies in the last 20 years, without proper regulations to mitigate the adverse impacts of such exploitation. In conclusion, the presence of multinational companies is essential to spur economic growth of a country, however the governments shall make regulations to ensure that their existence will preserve the environment and avoid risk stemming from the exploitation of natural resources in which they operate their businesses.