Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the would are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the past 30 years, there has been a significant increase in the number of car ownership that has made many urban areas facing the big threat of congestion issues. I agree with this statement because traffic issues are spiking all over the world. This essay will discuss the problem and provide significant measures to reduce the reliance on cars. To begin with, a rapid increase in car ownership is the primary reason for traffic in many cities. This is because the public transport is not reliable and efficient in many urban regions. Due to this, advocates are encouraged to purchase their own automobiles for daily commute. Additionally, buses and trains are often crowded, which prevents the public from opting to these modes of transport. For instance, a recent survey revealed that the majority of cities are impacted by congestion issues due to an increased number of cars on the roads; hence, they are planning to allocate more funds in improving the reliability of public transportation systems. Furthermore, governments can take three significant measures to reduce the usage of cars. Firstly, increasing the fuel price may deter consumers from buying personal vehicles because they don't want to spend a fortune for gas. Secondly, investing more funds in improving the efficiency of buses and trains, will reduce the reliance on cars. Finally, carbon tax can be imposed to raise more awareness amongst public. In conclusion, many people think that a growing number of car ownership in city centres is the main cause of traffic jam problem. I strongly agree with this statement by looking at the trends of a report which shows that it is the major cause. Therefore, increasing the gas price, improving the efficiency of public transports, and imposing carbon taxes are considered to be an effective measures to reduce the public dependency on cars.