Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In the recent years the subject of keeping or destroing the old downtown building, has sparked widespread debate. In my view, the old buildings, specially the ones that are built in the core of the town or city should be conservated. Firstly, these buildings represent a statement or a proves of the history. It is generally accepted that the people are interested and want to preserve their history that serves as a statement of their origins. In addition, the citizens can be the withnesses of the cultural curent of the previous generation, giving them the posibility to get in touch with the past curents of architecture and art. Besides this, we should preserve the old construction simply because they have a special beauty given by the time flow. For instance, it is a pleasure to visit Toronto downtown to visit or just to pass by the old St. James Cathedral on King Street surounded by newly constructed skyscrapers. Even more, the downtowns reach in ancient vestiges can contibute to the municipality's economy consistently, attracting a huge number of visitors. This unwritten real statement of time pass, can constitutes itself as a source of study and solution for the present generation. In conclusion, the old buildings are part of the settlement itself. Destroyng thi essential component would mean extracting its heart.