Across the world, local shops are closing due to losing customers to online competitors. What problems does this produce? And what solutions can you suggest to overcome them?

Nowadays, many shops from around the world are shutting down, and the reason why is because online shops have dominated the market and gained more consumers. In this essay, I will explain the damage this trend causes, and also I will provide ways to help them gain back their clients. On the one hand, the number of individuals who buy from websites is increasing each day, and this creates multiple problems. Firstly, many online stores offer a variety of clothes with bad quality and poor material, such as polyester and nylon. Secondly, the cost of shipping and handling is very expensive compared to reality, where you only pay for the clothes fee, which may make customers have more freedom when they are spending. Thirdly, users may experience problems when using web platforms, for example, slow loading, complex checkout and insufficient customer service. On the other hand, to solve this issue, shop owners should promote their commodity in social media programmes such as Instagram and TikTok to advertise their shops and attract people. In addition to that, customers should stop using digital payment, for instance Apple Pay, and start using cash to stop their impulsive buying habits. Moreover, people who own stores should reward their loyal customer base with discounts and early access to their new products. In conclusion, even though e-commerce is dominating the retail industry, stores in malls and shopping centres still provide excellent options and higher-quality merchandise, therefore store owners promote their products to increase sales and gain more consumers.