Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been an ongoing debate regarding the optimal period for children to start learning a non-native language. Some people believe that an appropriate age for learning a new language is during the primary education around the age of five to twelve, instead of secondary school. While I agree that it has certain drawbacks, it also has significant benefits. In my opinion, I agree that the advantages outweigh it's disadvantages. On the one hand, learning a foreign linguistic skills at a young age has significant benefits. Firstly, kids will efficiently learn new words and pronunciations effortlessly through songs and music, which will make the overall learning process more enjoyable. Additionally, their accent might sound more natural than academic. Secondly, they do not overthink grammar or fear about making mistakes while learning a new language because they are open minded and more curious to learn new ways to communicate. For instance, a recent investigation revealed that an average of 45% of young ones are growing as bilinguals contributing positively to the integration of society. Finally, such learnings also improves their cognitive, critical thinking and problem-solving skills, which helps to achieve academic excellence. On the other hand, such learnings at an early age also has certain drawbacks. Little ones often confuse their primary language with the new ones, and they may end up not gaining sufficient knowledge in both languages. However, it is evident that such situations can be avoided with the help of parents and mentors to guide them in the right direction by supporting the children throughout their learning path. In my opinion, despite the drawbacks, I believe that learning a foreign language at an early age as significant benefits in terms of picking up the language more naturally, while enhancing their life skills to achieve overall success. In conclusion, some people argue that learning a non- native language is better at primary than secondary school. I strongly agree with this statement, as it brings immense benefits on their ability to adopt learning an additional language, while improving their critical life skills to bring overall success. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh its drawbacks.