Social media platforms have become extremely popular among young people and strongly influence their behaviour, options and lifestyle choices. do you think this influence is more positive or negative ?

There has been an ongoing argument regarding the influence of social media platforms such as Facebook and Instagram on younger generations in terms of making their choices, behavioural patterns and lifestyle decisions. In my opinion, I believe that such culture is trending towards a negative development because it causes addiction and unhealthy practices. This essay will explain my views with relevant examples. To begin with, over-reliance on social media platforms causes addiction. This means that teenagers are putting more energy and attention into such websites in order to keep up the trend. They often follow beauty posts and modern lifestyles on Instagram, and they are highly determined to follow the same. As a result, it reduces their overall individuality. For instance, if a Facebook post says eating a burger is healthy, young adults easily accustom themselves to that habit without a second thought. This will lead to an unhealthy lifestyle. Therefore, it is evident that following these networks has detrimental effects on their preferences, and lifestyle options. Furthermore, some teens base their self-worth according to social media likes, which is not healthy. For instance, certain youngsters post photos in such networks, and they wait until they get 100K likes. This is mainly because they compare their self-worth based on how they are accepted, desired, and wanted by these media, which is unhealthy for future generations. Moreover, the evolution of such technology has reduced the importance of direct communication, as they prefer only online communication, and such behaviour has reduced social integration in the community. In contrast, it is true that there are certain benefits, such as it has transformed the way we communicate, and it is instantaneous regardless of time and distance. Despite the benefits, I believe that it has certain drawbacks in terms of the younger generation's behaviour and lifestyle. In conclusion, Social platforms such as Facebook, Instagram and TikTok have become more prevalent among youngsters, which has influenced them strongly in terms of making choices, behaviours and lifestyle decisions. In my opinion, it is a negative trend, as this approach causes more addiction and creates misconceptions about their self-worth. I pen down to say that the negative development outweighs its positives.