Television has had a significant influence on the culture development of societies. Some people believe that the influence has largely been negative while others believe it to be positive. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this modern era, Media plays a significant role in inculcating cultural knowledge among the public. While some people believe that such a trend has a negative influence, others argue that it has many benefits. In my opinion, I agree with the latter view and this essay will examine both views with relevant examples. On the one hand, watching TV programmes from different countries has many benefits. Firstly, people can enrich their knowledge about various lifestyles, and traditions from their own comfort zone without travelling to other countries. Such information broaden their horizons and makes them understand the significance of cultural identity. For instance, study have shown that an average of 35% of people learn new languages through media while watching other country movies and listening to songs. Secondly, this approach also resolves cultural conflicts, where some people believe that their norms are more dominance than others. Therefore, it is evident that TV has influenced a positive cultural developments in society. On the other hand, critics argue that it has brought certain drawbacks. This means that watching foreign movies on TV influence the viewers to adopt foreign lifestyles such as changing their food habits and behaviour, which has significant impacts on preserving the local tradition. Additionally, such exposure has detrimental effects on cultural heritage, as everyone gets accustomed to single custom. For example, the English has become a dominant language, even though there are many other popular and ancient languages spoken across the world. This is proven that media is cultivating a negative trend in terms of cultural developments. In conclusion, although people have differing opinions on how television influence cultural developments in society, I believe that it has influenced in a positive way by encouraging people to understand the importance of every tradition, resolving religious conflicts and uniting people together across the world.