There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measure will be needed. Discuss both sides.

The number of crimes being committed has been increasing tremendously. Serving death as a punishment seems to be the only way to deal with the situation according to some people. However, opponents suggest other measures need to be put in place. The essay will discuss both sides in the following paragraphs. To begin with, there are various situations that justify the death penalty. One of the main reasons is that it creates fear among criminals by setting an example of the consequences. There is a lower probability of crime if offenders know the possible outcomes of their action. In rape cases giving out death sentences are fully valid. This ensures that people will think twice before commiting serious offences. For example, the number of rape cases in South Asian countries has been increasing tremedously because governments have failed to set up an example for criminals. On the other hand, there are few cases where death punishment seems to be a bit extreme action. One of such reason is commiting murder in self-defence. Although punishment of killing someone is death sentence but if someone is trying to protect themselves and the criminal got killed in the process of saving. Then, in this case, hanging of the victim does not get justified. To conclude, death sentence serves a great purpose of fearing away the law offenders by setting a great example for them. But, in self-defence cases, it seems unjustified.