Many people around the world use social media to keep in touch with other people and get the news. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience

On the one hand, virtual spaces are very helpful for connecting with family and friends in far places. This is because modern lives are so busy that people have no time to spare to visit with their relatives. Therefore, social media allows people to save time and distance with just a click on their electronic gargets while also managing their challenging lives. For example, most immigrants abroad have taken advantage of these advances in media and communication to stay in touch with their families and friends in their countries of origin. On the other hand, social media reduces the opportunity for physical gatherings. Physical meetings allow for touch, hugs, kisses, handshakes, and other forms of non-verbal cues that aid the development of tighter socioemotional bonds. Furthermore, people generally run out of common interests when all they do is meet online since relations are better developed through activities done together. This is why some migrants now fear returning home, because they are no longer in sync with the local culture, values and relations. However, unlike the past, the opportunity to stay in touch online means that there is a fair chance of maintaining transnational relationships and partially participating in cultural activities. In conclusion, people around the world use social media to keep in touch with other people and get the news. My opinion is that enhanced opportunities for virtual connection far outwiegh the lack of physical meetings because people can remain connected while also pursuing their busy lifestyles.