the increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The production of consumer products around the world has been increasing more rapidly in recent years than ever before. As a result, the waste from consumer goods pollutes our natural environment, hence, immediate actions need to be taken to solve this issue. To begin with, the world’s population has increased dramatically in the last few years, which has led to an increase in the demand for various products to meet their daily living needs. In developing countries such as Indonesia, deforestation has became prevalent, with trees being cut down for farmland and to exploit wood used to produce furniture and materials to construct homes. Consequently, the massive loss of trees has resulted in natural disasters, for example, floods and landslides, because the root function to retain a massive amount of water in the ground no longer exists. At the end of 2024, severe floods occurred in Sumatra Island due to intense deforestation during the last 30 years, which caused loss of lives and livelihoods for the residents. Furthermore, the high demand for consumer for daily consumption is triggered by consumerism. Every single day, we use products made from plastics, and this is non-degradable substances for hundreds of years. The best viable solution to tackle this problem is by educating societies about the dangers of deforestation, because by doing so, their awareness will be raised, and this step is expected to reduce the number of trees lost. In addition, governments should encourage citizens to reduce the usage of plastic products and promote recycled materials in their daily lives. For instance, in department stores around Indonesia, they no longer provide plastic bags to carry products they purchase, but paper bags, which are considered degradable and do not pollute the environment. In conclusion, I contend that rapid population growth and consumerism have led to a high demand for consumer goods. But I believe that governments have a crucial role to educate societies regarding the danger of deforestation and encourage them to use recycled materials in their daily lives.