Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some people that extended prison sentences are the accurate way to reduce crime while others argue that there are other ways to mitigate this problem. Although, there are are some initiative methods like psychological counselling is applicable, I completely agree with long tenure of punishment benefit in abating criminal activities. On the one hand, perpetrators are given mental counselling to eradicate crime rates, as a result it will be beneficial for them instead of long-term prison sentences. Moreover, this session will be conducted by designated professionals who are capable of providing guidance that will ensure prisoners from committing other crimes. For instance, according to a recent report states that in the USA, criminals who are given additional guidance by medical practitioners are found to be less active in fraudulent activities during their parole period. However, the chances of success rate in young criminals are quite less and it is not applicable for every situation. On the other hand, if scammers are given prolonged period of life sentences to jail must aware of punishment given to them. In addition, it will also prevent others from following the same path and the authorities can ensure safety of others. To illustrate, in India, more than 40,000 offenders are sentenced lifelong prison, who are committed child abuse and terrorism activities. Therefore, this clearly states that longer prison sentences will not only ensure safety of others but also help to allivate terrorism from the country. In conclusion, counselling by medical professionals aim to success over small period, while extended sentences of criminals to jail benefit a country in surpassing the fear of crimes.