Some people believe that governments should invest more money in public transportation rather than building new roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is increasingly argued whether governments should spend more money in public transportation rather than constructing new roads. This essay agrees with the statement because this approach will significantly reduce traffic pressure and enhance better environmental health. To begin with, one of the key reasons is that public transportation offers long-terms solutions for traffic issues. This is because by using buses and subways, a large number of people can be transported from one place to another. When the transportation facilities are well-developed, more people will come and utilise them, increasing the reduced number of traffic pressure that is happened because of cars and motorcycles. As a result, a various number of people will shift to public transportation. This can be seen in countries such as Indonesia, where individuals prefer to using MRT and LRT instead of driving their car to their offices. This is particularly important in rapidly growing cities, where road expansion cannot keep pace with increasing population and vehicle ownership. Another major reason is that this approach will support the environmental health to be cleaner. While road expansion may reduce the traffic problems, but the gas emissions will increase due to the number of vehicles are not falling. Therefore, by increasing the capacity of mass transportation, the rate of gas emission will reduce as well as number of people using private cars for commuting. Consequently, the environmental health will be much better. For instance, Japanese workers who prefers to use trains to support better air quality. This matters because lower air pollution levels directly contribute to better public health outcomes in urban areas. In conclusion, this topic has been discussed widely whether governments should invest more on building roads or public transportation. Although building roads may support to ease traffic pressure, this essay believes that it is better to spend more money on public transportation because this investment is a long-term solution for this issue and increase the environmental health.