The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Thesis statement: Disadvantages outweigh advantages

It is often argued that large businesses hold personal information. This essay thinks that the drawbacks of owning this kind of data can outweigh the benefits because although some people might get easier to access some platforms and advertisements, this enables them to get identity theft and financial loss. The accumulation of personal data by large internet companies might create a shortcut to access some platforms. Because they filled the required information with the personal data they already have, making it easier and effortless to log in to some websites. Furthermore, advertisements can be more specific and effective as the consequences of developing personal information. For instance, Instagram are showing games and educational advertisements to kids and students through Reels or Instagram Feeds. However, this essay argues that without this approach, individuals would not be as comfortable as recently to give their details. Conversely, major organisations are often targeted by cybercrime and cyberattacks, resulting in unauthorised access to sensitive data. Such breaches can lead to identity theft for people, which can cause them to lose their identity. Moreover, financial loss can also become a major setback for this matter. The reason is that people's data might be manipulated, and this includes passwords and identifications, which allows irresponsible parties to get into a person's bank account and lose money. For example, one of the most recent cybercrime activities in Indonesia involved using a fake PDF file to lure old people to open the document and automatically steal all the data in their phones. Causing more than a hundred million loss. This essay believes that it is important to keep personal information by ourselves and only give it to reliable parties. In conclusion, although it is comfortable to easily access some of the provided platforms and promoted sites since organisations have our personal data, it is better for us to keep it safe and cautious due to the possibility of data breaches leading to identity loss and economic loss.