In some countries today, children are taught from a young age that competition is important and that winning is everything. Is this a positive or a negative development?

I believe that is a negative development as it shows that failure is not an option. Young children are in the process of developing a healthy mindset as they have yet to experience different and new things. Competition is important as well as wanting to win but to place such an importance on it by phrasing that "winning is everything" shows that there is no safe room available to make mistakes, which I strongly believe against. Young children should be taught that it is normal to go through failures, in fact, it is necessary. Having built the mindset that competition and winning is everything would hinder a child's self-confidence and self-esteem as they would constantly blame themselves for any shortcomings. Therefore, I believe that children being taught from a young age that competition is important and that winning is everything creates a negative development.