Children in the rural areas are being left behind in their academic development. Why is this is the case? What solutions can you suggest?

Education is a fundamental necessity for children and for a nation as a whole because the quality of human resources is determined by the quality of education. Besides, education will assist children to prepare them to be better people when they are growing up. However, it is commonly known that children’s academic development in rural regions is below compared of those who study in cities. To begin with, the quality of teachers and infrastructures for education in the countryside is far behind that of urban areas, hence their learning processes do not reach an optimum point. Furthermore, most students in these regions come from poor families, so their nutrients do not support brain development. It is impossible to focus on studying while the stomach is screaming for food because it will distract their concentration. Moreover, access to information in rural areas is limited, hence, knowledge and insights they acquire in the schools will also be restricted. For example, the number of students in the University of Indonesia in the last 20 years is dominated by disciples from Jakarta, and only a small portion by approximately 30% from the countryside. To solve this problem, the government have a crucial role in expanding access to current subjects to rural areas in order to that students from these areas will be much more competitive and confident when they enrol in universities. In addition, allocating a substantial amount of money to support their nutrients is also encouraged, because it will enhance children’s cognitive abilities. For example, since 2024, the Indonesian government has launched free lunch meals for all students, and this has resulted in an increase in children’s graduation rate by 7%. In conclusion, I contend that the poor quality of education infrastructure and limited access to subjects have led to a quality gap in academic development between children in rural and cities regions. To address this problem, the government play an essential role in expanding access to information and subsidises their meal for a better learning process.