More and more people are using computer and electric device to access information. Therefore, there is no need for printed books, magazine and newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In the last 20 years, there has been a shift in accessing information using computers and other electronic appliances. As a result, some people state that no need to print books, magazines, and newspapers. However, I disagree with this opinion as this essay elaborates. To begin with, it is true that electric devices such as smartphones and tablets connected to the internet enable us to obtain information around the world more quickly. Furthermore, these devices also provide applications, for instance AppStore or Google Store to download electronic books with a wide range of topics at an affordable price compared to books in the stores. The proponents of this phenomenon contend that the main material of paper is wood from forests, hence, the more we print, it will lead to deforestation, and eventually pollute our environment by releasing carbon stored in biomass and soil into our atmosphere. However, reading paper-based media also caters unique experience because it will encourage the readers to be more focused without distraction from smartphone notifications, and eventually enhance cognitive abilities. Moreover, it will also improve brain development, because the less we spend our time on screen, the less our opportunity to be infected by brainrot, which is regarded impairing our critical thinking abilities. A research from Jakarta Post in 2023 revealed that teenagers who spend less time on smartphones, on average, have an IQ 15 points higher compared to those who are addicted to computers. In conclusion, while accessing information on electric devices is considered faster and environmentally-friendly, I believe that reading on paper is crucial for an improvement in cognitive and critical thinking abilities.