The world is heavily dependent on oil for energy, which is unsustainable due to global warming. What future resource do you think will take oil's place? Why do you think this ?

Humans have been using oil as their main source of energy for hundreds of years. This continuous exploration leads to the depletion of their reserves, because this type of energy is regarded as a non-renewable resource. Therefore, scientists are trying to find other energy sources to supersede oil, as this essay elaborates. To begin with, the use of oil for energy has proven to pollute our environment. In many big cities around the world, such as Jakarta, Mexico City, and New Delhi, air pollution stemming from petrol and gasoline emissions has led to air quality deterioration due to a toxic substance called carbon dioxide, and this results in many illnesses, such as asthma, cancer, and respiratory syndrome. Furthermore, the greenhouse gas emissions released from fossil fuels into the atmosphere will trap heat, then accelerate global warming, and eventually lead to climate change. This can be found in Antarctica, where the average temperature has risen by approximately 0.6 °C over the last 20 years. To address this problem, humans have made an incredible innovation, for example, electric vehicles, which are considered environmentally-friendly because they do not use fossil fuels for engine combustion, but batteries embedded in the body of these vehicles. When the battery almost runs out of energy, they will charge it with the electricity devices installed at home. The government of China has encouraged their citizens to use electric cars since the beginning of 2005, and this resulted in approximately a 25% reduction in air pollution. In conclusion, I contend that using electric cars is the most sensible solution to reduce dependency on fossil fuels. By doing so, greenhouse gas emissions will be reduced, and eventually decelerate the global warming process.