The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only langusge to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

It is true that leisure travel has made the English dialect the most popular worldwide. Some folks are of the opinion that this trend would result in English dialect emerging as the sole dialect of communication worldwide. Here are some pros and cons to of this possible new development. The main advantage is, creation of unity amongst nations. This would lead to more bilateral government agreements, more inter-continental revenue, migrations and marriages. One possible drawback, is the extinction of other languages, cultures and traditions. This would lead to a loss of human population variety as there would be a decrease in the transfer of dialect and cultures across generations. In summary, leisure travelling has made the English dialect popular. If the English dialect becomes the world's lingua Franka, there would be increased bilateral government agreement, revenue, migrations and migrations. However, this could lead to the extinction of other dialect and the gradual loss of indigenous cultures as well.