Children today spend a lot of time on social media. What potential problems could it cause and how would they be addressed?

Today, youngsters pass their time by surfing social media. It causes many health issues and distracts them from education. But this issue can be solved by following some precautions, like not allowing children to use mobile devices and by encouraging them to play sports. Firstly, children who spend the majority of their daily time on social media apps, suffer from many illnesses. Such as, weak eyesight, obesity, etc. Because they do not do physical activities, which are vital for their body development. Many growth-related issues are also seen in young people who spend more time playing video games on smart devices, rather than participating in outdoor games. Secondly, children's performance in schools also drops due to the usage of tech devices. It distracts them from studying by diverting their attention. For example, according to a recent study by New York University, children who are more active on social media are more likely to perform poorly and even drop out before the course finishes. This problem can be resolved by restricting children from using social media apps. For this, parents can supervise their children, and teachers in school can also make sure no student uses the tech devices while in school. Additionally, social media applications should also be banned on school devices, like in computer labs. For instance, in India, students are not allowed to bring mobile phones into the building regardless of their level of class. Apart from this, motivating children to play sports or outdoor activities can discourage them from using social media applications. This can be done by establishing more public parks having play areas for children, and the government should also provide more funds to hold sports tournaments, which can promote sports among children. For example, the federal government invest millions in hosting, such as the 104 million allocated for the 2026 FIFA World Cup in Toronto and Vancouver. To conclude, as many teenagers spend their maximum time on the internet is making them weak physically and mentally, which is not good because they are pillars of society. But we can tackle this emerging issue by providing proper support, supervision, and encouraging them to take part in real physical games by holding sports events.