In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, an increasing number of people are showing interest in discovering information about history of the place they inhabit in. This essay will discuss the main reasons for this trend and explain how people can find out required data. There are several factors why interest in building’s history is becoming more common. One key reason is that many people live in historical areas of the city and interested about its history. They want to know when their house was built and who lived there. Another contributing factor is free access to Internet and public archives of local communities, which means that individuals can easily find out what they want without help of others. For example, my grandmother lives in old house of our family, which was built in 1894. Some time ago it was extremely difficult to interact with local authorities to find documents about previous owners, but now it’s possible to find chain of owners via Internet in few hours. There are various ways in which people can research more about origins of their residence. One effective method is checking website of city’s mayor, as it allows to find public information about owners, date of building and reconstructions. In addition, online or offline libraries can also be useful, especially when house is old and has some historical meaning. These approaches make it easier for individuals to find out more about their accommodation. To sum up, interest to house’s past is rapidly growing due to public awareness about importance of history and transparency of online sources. By using mentioned methods people can easily achieve necessary information about their building.