Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages.

Some believe that foreign subjects should be taught in the early years in school and not at the high chool. In my view, I suggest that despite of the benefits of the foreign language being taught in the secondary, the pros of instilling knowledge to young kids outweigh the cons by far. Teaching the children who are 10 years and below foreign lessons such as German, Chinese or Japanese languages has a lot of benefits as they are able to grasp and adapt to different kinds of lessons easily and also, their brains during those years are not overloaded. For example, a study done in 2020 in a German International school revealed that 98 per cent of the learners at the ages of 4 to 6 passed foreign subjects compared to 13- 18 years who ranked below average. Therefore, the younger the learners, the more they are excellent at studying something new. On the other hand, high scholars since they graduate and decide on what to do at the colleges or universities, studying foreign subjects will improve their exposure internationally as they can decide to major in one language. For instance, in rural parts of Canada, citizens converse in French. So, a student willing to work there will have an added advantage as the language will be fresh in his or her mind. In conclusion, however, teaching new foreign subjects to secondary school may be beneficial, it is far better to start with young learners in primary school as it will be a walk in the park for them.