The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate locally produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

There is no iota of doubt that food plays a significant role in human life. When the food is transported from different countries to consumers, the process of transportation causes emissions and pollution. Therefore, I believe that the phenomenon of only eating locally produced crops has a positive impact on the economy and the environment. Regarding the negative side of only using locally produced crops, the first influence is that people will lose the options for a variety of meals. It is difficult to plant the diverse categories of crops in every country because soil and climate are different in many countries. Therefore, without imported food, most countries will be challenged to cook myriad categories of dishes. It is a drawback for everyone. On the flip side of the coin, when people only eat locally produced crops, the national agriculture develops prosperously. Owing to without imported food, it not only reduces carbon dioxide emissions but also decreases the pollution of fuels. Moreover, if the crops hadn't been imported, the government would have invested more in the agricultural industry. The farmers have the resources to produce productively due to the aforementioned reason. Considering all these merits, only eating locally produced crops is not only friendly for the environment but also stimulates the economy. In conclusion, although people have a loss without imported crops, many people benefit from an economic perspective and a preserved environment.