It is said that governments should encourage people to use only public transportation to travel because of many problems caused by private cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Governments around the world are promoting the use of puplic transport as an alternative to private cars. I strongly agee with the idea that governments should encourage people to use public transportation. Puplic transport helps reduce traffic congestion, lower air pollution, and decrease fuel consumption. In addition, it is more affordable and accessible, espicially for those who commute daily. To begin with, road congestion became a normal thing in Riyadh city, especially in working days there's a horrific traffic that leads to delays for work. So, to reduce that major issue we should take a step forward to make it easier for everyone. In addition, cars produce a detrimental emissions that impacts the environment due to fuel combustion. Furthermore, high fuel consumption in cars leads to more burning of gasoline or diesel, which increases the emissions of harmful gases. However, most people complain about the cost of fuel, which increases in a positive way the use of puplic transport. According to a recent article, using public transportation is less expensive than owning a private car. For this reason, it becomes much easier for people that travel for work or even visit their relatives. In conclusion, although opinions differ, each person has its own idea of this situation. Most people tend to use their own cars for convenient transportation, but I believe that public transport is way better than driving your own cars.