In the past important knowledge of culture and history was stored in the museums. Nowadays information is freely available on the internet so there is no need for museums. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancements in technology, many people who are interested in culture and history use the internet to look up information. As a consequence, some argue that traditional museums have become obsolete. In my view, I do not agree with this statement. Nowadays, the internet has become widely accessible. It enables storage of large amount of information at a very low cost. People can look up almost any information on the internet at anytime to learn about history and culture of different countries. Furthermore, high quality digital images of many famous paintings, statues, and artifects are readily avaiable on the internet to all people across the world without needing to travel. The major advantage the internet has over traditional museums is convenience. Nevertheless, museums has several vital roles that can never be replaced by the internet. Firstly, many museums are popular tourist attractions that draw in many visitors each year. These visitors are crucial to the tourist industry and help to support the local economy. Secondly, seeing the digital images of paintings and artefacts is not the same as looking at the physical items. Some fine details cannot be shown clearly on a screen, thus, in order to fully appreciate them, a physical trip to the museum is necessary. Finally, many of these items require ongoing care to ensure they stay in good conditions. Donations raised and entrance fees received by museums can be spent to hire professionals to help with the upkeep of these valuable artefacts. Museums are central to the preservation of culture and history. In summary, while the internet is a very convenient tool for people to start learning about history and culture, visiting museums to look at the physical artefacts provides experiences of a different level of depth. They are also vital to the economy and the physical upkeep of valuable historic items. In my opinion, museums are essential and they cannot be replaced by the internet.