Young people’s behaviour is often influenced by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important for personal growth, while other people feel that it has distinct disadvantages. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Nowadays, mental health issues have occured commonly among young community. It is widely held that young people's behaviour is often influenced by people in the same age group while growing up. There is debate between whether peer pressure contributes to personal growth, or provoke bad influences. Hence, this essay will dive into each perspective to compare if one notion outweighs another. Firstly, the motivation among peers can push you to grow beyond your comfort zone. They can urge you to try more new tasks, study more, join school clubs, and learn social skills through interactions with friends or mentors, which helps buiding confidence. For example, you can join writing contest in school to increase your competency, while expanding your vocabulary and writing capabilities as well. In short, this dynamic encourages you to think out of the box and improve your shortcomings. However, it is observed that peers can also influence you to do risky acts or adapt bad habits, such as smoking, drinking, cheating, or bullying. Studies show that teenagers are most easily misguided in their adolescent years as they are vulnerable in the explorative stage of their identities and personal beings. This type of negative environment can make you lose your own choice and feel stressed to fit it due to loss of self-awareness. Therefore, peer pressure becomes the factor in misleading you to take harmful decision. On the other hand, I believe that the impact of individual's prformance depends on the peer group you belong to. Positive peers guide you to take on responsibility and good attitudes such as self-discipline and humility, whereas bad peers bring you to distress. While schools and family can help you choose the peers wisely, it is crucial to make your own plan in selecting the friend group you trust with. A good mutual friendship should nurture respect, kindness and care for each other. In conclusion, I think good peer pressure helps when it comes from a kind, ambitious initiative. You should keep you own values, learn to say no, and seek positive role models to keep you on the right track.