Nowadays more and more people have to compete with young people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause and what are the possible solutions?

These days many old people are competing with youngsters for similar work position. It causes increased unemployment and reduce organisational overall efficiency due to lack of less experienced workforce. But this problem can be solved by providing certain job reservation and trainings to elderly employees. First of all, many companies prefer to hire young people over old people, because they are willing to work at lower salaries and are more familiar with the new technology than their old counterparts. For example, in India, many aged individuals are facing challenges to find jobs after being replaced by young applicants. Moreover, this also leads to workplace tension, as young employee easily adapts to technology than old employee, and this generational gap leads to low productivity and efficiency. To tackle such kind of job -related problem, government and communities can take several measures. Like, government can set certain number of job position reserved for old people. So, they will not struggle to find a job. Additional, organisations should provide retraining programmes particularly designed for older people, to help them to adapt to new technology and work environment. For example, digital literacy course helps them to learn about new technological advancements. In conclusion, increasing competition among young and old people for same job is increasing unemployment rate in senior workers and reducing work productivity. But can be solved, if authorities and employers take suitable actions, like reserving job positions for old individuals and by offering training courses at organisational level.