Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Level: Medium

In this modern era, especially after the human experienced industrial revolution, economic growth have been regarded as a key driver to eliminate hunger and poverty. On the other hand, people around the globe also had learned lessons and noticed serious side effects of economic growth, environmental pollution. Although admitting its negative byproduct, I still believe economic growth plays essential role to let people with ample supply of food and other essential needs. First of all, in this capitalism society, cash and the accumulation of wealth plays pivotal role in every aspects. When it comes to raising crops, for example, every steps are driven by financial incentives. To allocate human resources, to purchase equipments, to transport and sell products - these are the situations that finance is needed. By increasing value Secondly, if I imagine the society that economic growth is less valued, two notable examples can be shown. One is former communist USSR and the other is primitive society which is remote from modern world. In USSR, food supply were determined by plans and calculations conducted by central goverment, not by law of economics. In theory, it seemed to work, but as you know, the consequence was deverstating. The other example, primitive society where exchange of goods conducted directly, no longer sustain this developed world. Nothing works well without capitalism and economics, in this modern era. To conclude, I strongly suppose that povery and food shortages can only be demolished by strong economy. At the same time, environmental issues should be well handled and contained, not to do harm to ecosystems, including humans and other components of nature. By focusing on well planned growth, people can obtain better financial background with ample food.