Some people think that the main purpose of education is to prepare individuals for employment, while others believe it should focus on personal development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One must know how to live the life, purpose of education has been changed over the period of time. Some critics argues that it should focused on employment prospective. I firmly in the favour, education policies should be personal development centric, for a overall development. It is indeed true, education institutions nowadays designing their curriculum according to the job market. Such policies are ignoring the scientific development of the individual. For example In present scenario, schools are advertising that they are teaching coding from class 5th. Therefore due to such advertisement creates a feeling of missing out, which results to depression and anxiety among the parents and pupils. Many researchers have advocates that there should be set of rules to stop the practices like this. Whereas, personal development is a key factor for any well being. Teaching of ethics, languages and sports benefits in a longer run, it develops the scientific temperament, critical thinking and team spirit. Absence of these soft skills weakening the individual's professional life too. For example in today's era, majority of the workforce are witnessing mental health issues. Therefore we should made a strong curriculum for the overall development. It is a fact, world is becoming more performance driven. To cop up with the advancements individuals are making result driven decision. On the other hand many studies have discovered that, the institutions which are teaching such syllabus, will be outdated by the time students introduced to labour markets. Therefor teachings should focus on personal development to prepare a well rounded individual.