Some people believe that individuals today spend too much time following political news while others feel politics deserve greater attention. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is argued that following political news must be investigated because of the increasing necessity for civic awareness worldwide. While some feel it consumes too much time, this essay believes that staying informed can have detrimental impacts on mental health if done excessively, yet it is a vital necessity for a functioning society. Analyzing new political developments for personal purposes can worsen significantly the stress levels of individuals. Aspiring to acquire temporary information, a vast amount of peace must be destroyed, chopping down the hours of relaxation and releasing hazardous anxiety into the daily routine. Furthermore, it may cause other catastrophic issues such as social polarization, by depriving communities of harmony and increasing ideological conflict. For example, provided statistics by Oxford University proves that excessive news consumption between 1970 and 1996, public mental health worsened by 35% by degrading social trust and causing the extinction of polite public discourse. Having disconnected from political updates, citizens can grow their dependency on misinformation by trying to accomplish urgent civic duties without facts. Not only does the avoidance of news make people eager to consume rumors increasingly year by year, but it also may lead to a neglectful approach to the democratic process. Instead of inventing and implementing critical thinking skills, humans generally rush to find a temporary salvation in biased opinions. For instance, a study conducted by the Global Press Institute proves that political apathy is gaining a tendency, with an increasing figure at about 9% each year, and causing the neglection to the invention of informed voting habits. Conclusion In conclusion, though the demand for constant updates is growing, it mustn't be the reason to exploit one's mental well-being, as this can become a root of disaster to the nature and reliance of humanity only on sensationalized sources.