Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people's lives? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, a lot of aspects of how people dress depend on the global clothing trends. This can happen because, naturally, human is a social creatures that are easily influenced by others and need to be accepted by their environment. However, if the vast majority of people are using the same type of wardrobe, it can lead to the scarcity or even extinction of the unique and diverse cultures of fashion in the world. Moreover, the one who is selling clothes that suit the trend perfectly are fast fashion brand, which is very non-sustainable. Hence, personally, I think global fashion trends have a more negative impact on the development of cultures and sustainability. Firstly, in the digital era, the general fashion trend is usually influenced by the content and influencers we see on social media. Usually, the type of clothes they’re wearing is from the fast fashion brands that are spread all over the world. This is why the worldwide-scale of fashion trends can be formed. Consequently, this can change the perspective of people about how cool wearing things should look like. As a result, the generalism of clothing like this can gradually lead to the extinction of people who wear and preserve the original fashion culture in each country or area in the world. For instance, the Javanese fashion style, such as wearing “kebaya is no longer commonly used by Javanese people. On the other hand, fast fashion companies are very bad at managing the waste products, and they produce a significant number of excess products. This resulting a more carbon emissions from the unmanaged excessive clothing, which is mostly made from non-biodegradable anorganic materials such as polyester. Besides, they are doing this continuously because they need to adapt every time the trend changes. For example, a brand called H&M is continuously changing its collection every 1-3 months. And in some articles, this brand is just throwing up the leftover stock with inappropriate management. In conclusion, global fashion trends have more adverse effects on both cultural and environmental development. In this modern world, it is important to preserve the diversity of cultures in every particular area in the world and save the earth by reusing something we already have or buying second-hand things, especially for our basic needs, such as clothes.