Many people believe that governments should invest more in public transportation instead of private vehicles?

There has been a controversial topic on whether governments should invest in public transportation rather than private vehicles. For once, technological advances have made it possible to mass-produce transport, particularly motorbikes and cars, to meet people’s demands, and this shift in decision to own a car has led to more purchases of private vehicles. While I think this is understandably true, as it has certain advantages, supporting the other option is more beneficial not just for the country’s policy but also for individuals as a whole. Firstly, expenditure on regulations to promote personal vehicles can be convenient for many families. Specifically, public transportation such as buses may only pick up passengers at fixed locations that have bus signs. As a result, it may be inconvenient, since if you miss one, you must wait until the next trip. Meanwhile, your own vehicle can be parked in a garage which you can use at your disposal. Secondly, many remote regions may have few public transportation options at present. Such places might be unsuitable to build and construct infrastructure to provide public amenities. For example, many states in America such as Alabama have a low-density population, leading to slower overall development. Therefore, there is less public transit available and higher ownership of private vehicles. On the other hand, public transportation is extremely environmentally friendly. This is because it can seat many people at the same time and consume much less fuel compared to individual usage. For instance, a metro can be packed with hundreds of passengers before it is full, and although it uses more fuel than a single car, it consumes far less than hundreds of private cars. In addition, many transport systems have started to use electricity instead of relying on gasoline or petrol, which many personal vehicles are still struggling with. Thereby, public transportation serves as a solution not just to reduce carbon emissions but also to lower the number of vehicles on the road, which leads to traffic jams. In conclusion, both choices have the aforementioned benefits and drawbacks. However, in a world driven by many unpredictable issues such as instability and climate change, it is safe to assume that investment in public transport must be considered critical and prioritized for the betterment of society.