More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The obesity issue has become prevalent nowadays. It is commonly believed that high calorie foods should be taxed in order to address this problem. This essay disagrees with the proposed solution because it will take its toll on low-income families and promote an unhealthy relationship with food. The first social category that will be affected by fast food taxation is impoverished families because high quality meat is much more expensive than a hot dog. Moreover, most households in Kazakhstan allocate more than a half of their budget on food expenses. If the price of fattening foods were raised, the poorer citizens would be forced to reduce spending on education or healthcare. As a result, a major percent of the population could see a decrease in living standards. Another aspect to be considered is that punishment for enjoying certain foods might aggravate eating disorders. As a matter of fact, a large segment of women is in a recovery from anorexia or bulimia and in need of exposure to previously triggering foods. Therefore, such measures as making certain foods forbidden or less accessible might exacerbate some individuals' unhealthy relationship with food. As a result, the price increase might contribute to a mental health crisis we are currently facing. In conclusion, I fully disagree that raising prices of fattening foods might be an appropriate solution. Instead, it could have a negative impact on lives of disadvantaged families and those who struggle with eating disorders.