Individual actions cannot solve environmental problems; only governments can make a difference. Discuss both views.

Nowadays, discussions about environmental problems have increased in popularity. While some people think that improvements come from a person's contribution, others believe only the government can change the situation. In this essay I will provide both perspectives, however I agree that individuals are more important in solving environmental problems. To begin with, for any governmental program to be beneficial, it needs the support of its citizens. Even if policies are created to protect the environment and individuals don't cooperate, this program will fail. A good example is waste separation. Although, government provides facilities to process different kinds of waste, it will be unsuccessful if individuals don't separate their waste at home. On the other hand, governments have more power and resources than individuals. They can establish policies and provide incentives to citizens as a motivational approach. For instance, in Denmark some time ago a plastic recycling system was invented. There are many bottle-collecting machines that refund the deposit money paid on bottles. As a result, the number of bottles in the garbage have reduced and pollution on the streets has also decreased because many people are collecting plastic waste to bring it to the recycling plants. To conclude, people are key to solving environmental problems, however, without the support of the government it is difficult to make huge changes