Many young children have unsupervised access to the internet and are using the internet to socialize with others. What problems do children face when going online without parental supervision? How can these problems be solved?

Many kids usually have almost unlimited access to the internet, and they are using it to socialise with others. The main problems of unrestricted access to the internet are that it may cause kids to be exposed to inappropriate content online. A general problem-solving solution would be to control users on the internet. Kids exposed to inappropriate content online, such as explicit photos, pedophiles, radical ideas or any other content that may have a negative effect on a child’s mental or physical health. As in online chats or in many social networks, there are not many restrictions and filters, on what people message to each other in private chats. Which may endanger children. This led to recently famous law cases, where Roblox and other social media platforms were partly blocked in the United Kingdom for people under the age of 16, as there were many reports of child endangerment and child predators. The solution to this may be adding age verification to those platforms with parental supervision required. Fully blocking them may have negative effects on children's social life, and kids find bypasses to bypass blocks, which is only going to makes the problem worse. So enforcing parental control and age verification, will be a more effective and adequate measure, as kids won’t be as vulnerable as they used to be, and if any unwanted content gets through, parents are going to prevent it from getting to kids. As an example, we can take the Roblox verification system that was introduced not so long ago, which created age groups. Different age groups can’t communicate with each other. Although it helped in the first weeks, soon offers from kids verifying accounts became a threat to the whole system, as adults with twisted minds could’ve easily gotten into age groups, which they don’t belong to. So introducing both systems will reinforce each other. In conclusion, unrestricted access to intent may cause kids to be exposed to inappropriate information online, so there should be measures taken by the government and by parents in order to keep children safe.