Food travels thousands of miles from farms to consumers. some people believe we should buy food from local farmer to protect the environment and support local businesses. do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that some individuals believe that buying food from local farmers to protect the environment and support local communities is more benefitial. Therefore, others believe that giant stores have wider variety of goods and it is more convenient for consumers to buy different items (food, chemicals and machines) in there in order to save time. Personally, I believe that buying from local suppliers provides a lot of benefits: environmental, social and economical. Nowadays, the local farmers are more trustworthy in the eyes of a customer when it comes to nutrition value and biodiversity. In contrast, the megastores have a big variety of perfectly and unnaturally looking vegetables and fruits, which are shying because of vaseline and chemicals. However, the local produce is less likely to spoil because of transportation. Moreover, the food waste is also being resumed by animals in the farms. In addition, the local businesses protects the environment by not leaving the carbon footprint due to thousands of miles of travels. Another compelling point is that, the local farmers have a significant impact on the economy of the country. What is more important that it gives more working places in smaller towns or villages. From the business perspective, it is also making a higher competition in the market, which provides customers with bigger variety of places to shop and higher quality of the products. In conclusion, the aforementioned reasons I believe that the local farmers has a positive influence on the economy and environment in general. Moreover, I believe that a balanced approach is therefore required, and both of the mentioned options are good from different angles.