The best way to solve the world‘s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In modern world, a rapid proliferation of climate change and environmental pollution has become a serious issue. Some people believe that increasing the fuel prices is the only effective way to tackle with this menace, whereas others argue that other measures such as using electric cars instead of gasoline vehicles would be more beneficial. However, I personally believe that this method alone is not sufficient to manoeuvre this gigantic problem, other measures must be taken by the government which will be discussed in upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, one of the peculiar aspect of surging fuel prices is that people might discourage themselves from using their cars on regular basis. In other words, if prices for fuel are exceedingly high, people will become overly reluctant from using their cars and may start opting the options like carpooling. Instead of commuting by cars, individuals will be more inclined towards buses and trains where they can travel with a reasonable fair. For example, if a person cannot easily afford a substantial amount of money for fuel, he will definitely start less consumption as well. Hence, it would be a better solution to some extent. However, although people may avert themselves from commuting by cars due to fuel consumption, it would be overly financial burden on low-scale income group. To be more precise, when low and middle class people who always reach their offices and do their work while commuting by their own vehicles, exorbitant fuel prices can put them into financial troubles which can further take them on the brink of destruction. For instance, if a person works as a Uber professional driver, and using his own car to pick and drop passengers, his income would be less as compared to his expenses on his car because of high fuel prices. Consequently, he might feel himself under pressure and take any wrong decision such as suicide since he is unable to survive in this materialistic world. Therefore, mushrooming prices of fuel can make the situation more precarious. In conclusion, it is crystal clear that this measure alone cannot be sufficient to eradicate the environmental problem to a greater extent. By adopting other measures such as using electric cars in place of gas vehicles and also government can levy hefty taxes on gasoline cars so that people resist themselves from purchasing them. In order to manage environmental global issues, only one measure would not be effective, government and individuals should join their hands together to ameliorate this issue.