Some people think all university student should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

There has been an unending debate on whether students should be given the opportunity to study whatever they like or must be only be given the freedom to study the STEM subjects that prove beneficial for the future. Personally, I believe learners should have the liberty to make choices, as it instils in them a sense of motivation and confidence to deal with the challenging world. A certain lot believes that choosing the subject of choice helps in confidence building. As youngsters face many situations in their everyday life that tend to obscure their thinking, by polishing their belief system, they would feel a sense of empowerment. Moreover, students will generally experience a sense of fulfilment as they acquire knowledge and apply it to their lives. For instance, a recent study in Britain showed that an increased number of pupils excelled in their career once they selected their own academic interest. Undoubtedly, freedom of selection targets the youth’s holistic development. Conversely, there are people who negate the idea by speaking in favour of scientific studies. With the rapid surge in the technological advancement, human beings need to be equipped with the latest trends in ever evolving world, so that they can cope well with the pressures of the new era. In order to achieve that, they must only select academics linked to science and technology. For example, the field of robotics has made an immense contribution to the society in Japan as a result of a majority of the youth opting for empirical subjects. To conclude, taking everything into account, I would argue that opting for interest based academic study moulds one’s personality. Although, advanced level of study tends to prepare the young mind for the futuristic world, it is restricting human choice and freedom.