Youngers behaviour and attitude are sometimes effected by other persons at the same age , known as peer group pressure. What the advantages and disadvantages ?

Younger people tend to change their behavior due to pressure from other groups of the same age, known as peer group pressure. Although peer group pressure can lead to some beneficial changes, there are also several concerning factors that should be considered. On the one hand, peer group pressure can encourage positive change among young people. The community a young person belongs to can easily lead to healthy competition, motivating them to improve academically, socially, or even professionally. Healthy competition can help them develop essential life skills, such as time management, self care, discipline or even team spirit, all of which is needed in adulthood. On the other hand, peer group pressure can also have negative impacts on younger individuals. Risky behavior, such as smoking, drinking, and dropping out of school can happen easily, when youngsters are pressured by others. Moreover, fear of being judged can occur. That fear tends to make younger groups lose their confidence and individuality, making them depended on other’s opinions. In conclusion, peer group pressure has both advantages and disadvantages on younger people. Overall, it is important for younger generations to maintain a healthy balance between social life and listening to themselves, maintaining their own beliefs and values.