Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

At present, the age required to receive a pension is set at a constant across the board for all types of occupation, and many people believe that certain jobs should be exempted from such a rule to receive social security earlier than the set age. I strongly agree with this notion because each job demands a different level of effort from the workers, which needs to be accounted for while providing a pension. The main reason to vary the retirement age is the intangible stresses that are not taken into consideration. The physical and mental pressure from the prolonged service in any industry varies from person to person. For instance, a blue-collar worker, such as a miner, has to deal with the risk of losing their life in addition to the physical strain from equipment handling compared to an office worker with little to no risk, if all else is equal. So, it is only fair to ensure that labour-intensive and high-risk occupations have a lower age requirement. Such a change enables the workers from trade occupations and service sectors to ease into their retirement, resulting in a revitalisation of the workforce. That means people working in construction, mining, the police force, aged care and similar occupations should be subject to an early retirement plan. In conclusion, the age for receiving a pension should be lowered depending on the occupation of an individual, rather than keeping it the same for all. This benefits both the workers with a peace of mind and the job sectors to strategically renew their employees.