Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

It is often argued that advertisement is highly successful at convincing people to purchase companies' products, while others insist that promotions are no long special to persuade customers to buy their goods. From my perspective, the latter seems more plausible, but both sides of the issue will be examined in this essay. To begin with, it can be argued that advertising still remains one of the strongest methods to convince people to buy their items. Firstly, promotions draw attention effectively. This is mainly because advertisement gives strong impression in a few seconds. In other word, it gives a large number of merits about products. Therefore, people will be persuaded to purchase their products. For example, Nike hired a famous basket player to promote their shoes to basketball fans, then it increased sales. Moreover, fans could potentially become loyal consumers. On the other hand, it is commonly believed that advertisement does not persuade people to buy their products anymore. Firstly, it is because advertising is becoming common. In other words, advertisement no longer takes attention from consumers. People are exposed to a large number of promotions while they watch television, listen to radio or even walk on street. So, it may make people feeled a sense of resistance. Which means people will not make decisions through advertisement. Moreover, advertising could mislead customers because people tend to pick important things as their preference. It can lead people to leave bad review, and the sales will drop. In conclusion, although both views have their own merits, I personally believe that promotions will not be extremely succesful at persuading people to buy goods. As it became too common, and can mislead consumers.