As computers translate quickly and accurately, some people think that learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an irrefutable fact that any language can be translated by computers. Therefore, it is an argued issue whether individuals should spend time in learning a second langauge or not. Although technology is quite fast to translate language, I believe that learning foreign languages cannot only help to understand other countries culture but also tradition. To begin with, with the advent of new technology, residents can translate their own language to another within a few minutes. Advanced translation applications, such as AI-powered tools and ChatGpt, provide instant text and voice translation, enabling people to communicate with other nations' people immedately. For example, Google Translator has become a popular application around the globe. So without learning a language, they can visit any country and communicate with locals. Therefore, residents think that learning language is no longer essential. However, technology is not always reliable because it can sometimes mislead people, providing inaccurate words. On the other hand, I contend that without learning the local language, individuals cannot appreciate the value of other nations' cultures and traditions. This is because language is connected with cutural identity and social values. Unlike technology, human communication involves expressions, emotions, and gestures while speaking, which is crucial for achieving a deep and meaningful understanding. To illustrate, leaning English enables immigrants to socialise with locals and participates in festivals, namely Christmas. To conclude, even though learning language is waste of time due to advancement in technology, I strongly assert that it is mandatory for learning culture and tradition of other countries in depth.