Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that a large number of health problems caused by sugary products, so producers should make products containing high levels of sugar more expensive. From my perspective, it seems absurd since it can negatively affect economic afforability and inflation. To begin with, admittedly, I accept that sugary food and drink products lead to an increase in chronic diseases, which people make visit hospitals more. This results in facing to financial hardships. Moreover, it can be a large burden for the government as the government should allocate more funds that could use for social wellbeing or other sectors. As a result, tax will be increased due to establishing larger funds. On the other hand, I am convinced that companies should not rise prices of sugar-added food and drink because people will suffer from inflation. This is mainly because most food and drink people consume for their daily life contain sugar. It leads to high inflation once sugary food and drink become expensive. Consequently, people will not afford enough food and drink, so they will suffer from famine. For example, in the UK, the government implemented sugar-tax which made high inflation in food. Then, a large number of people experienced starvation even though the UK is one of the richest countries in the world. In conclusion, manufacturer shold not make sugary food and drink more expensive to encourage people to reduce sugar consumption because food affordability and famine.