In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have the opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays, school leavers have superior opportunities to study overseas, however, in the past, they only used to study in their home countries. I believe that this change has its reasonable pros and cons which will be elaborated in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, being able to study in foreign countries positively affects students. Firstly, studying abroad enhances people’s social skills more than they do in their motherlands. If new students arrive in a host country where they have not got any acquaintances and loved ones, they start thriving to survive independently. In other words, they develop their decision-making skills without interventions of their family and friends, which inevitably leads to higher level of self-esteem and problem-solving skills. Moreover, they simply may settle in a strange life with making new local friends and weak-ties at least, which in turn, develops their communication skills. Secondly, not only this new trend helps students to widen their social circles, but it also fines their academic level. When students from other countries - usually from developing or poorer backgrounds – approach their host country, they probably have more advanced facilities such as more experienced professors or modern technologies. To be more precise, these opportunities help them to do more research with experts in various fields along with more cutting-edge devices. As well as academically strong teachers, students take advantage of more gifted course or university mates. This means that the undergraduates may possibly have some peer evaluations with each other to share their knowledge. Studying abroad, on the other hand, may also give rise to certain negative effects on students. Initially, getting internationally recognized qualification is undoubtedly costlier compared to doing a degree in their own countries. When a student from less developed area intends to get a world-class degree, especially in a richer nation, it does not turn out to be affordable for them. Hence, they may be forced to borrow money from other different family members or relatives to launch their academic journey even before they start studying and getting a well-paid job with the help of their diplomas. Furthermore, aside from being capable of paying university fees, students should settle in and survive in a new financially distinctive country. As, the gap between the economy of two distinguishing countries is not always comparable, meaning that cost of living such as their accommodation rent and other study-related expenses may be more expensive than in their local areas. As a consequence, instead of fully concentrating on their academic lives, students are usually associated with working in part-time jobs, if not full-time in extreme cases, in order to cover all their expenses. Thus, their desire to get so-called qualification may diminish resulting in becoming an average staff after their graduate. To sum up, after observing all the consequences of this growing trend, I have come to the conclusion that going abroad to be enrolled as an international student may have both its advantages and disadvantages according to their preferences.